1. Word / Phrase: ABHOR
Meaning: DETEST, HATE
Context: THIS WORD WAS USED IN SAT PREP CLASS.
2. Word / Phrase: DE
Meaning: SOMETHING NEGATIVE, BAD
Context: I THOUGHT DENUNCIATION IS A GOOD THING BUT MS AARTI SAID THAT IT IS A BAD THING.
3. Word / Phrase: AMBIGUOUS
Meaning: VAGUE, UNCLEAR
Context:WE USED IT DURING SAT PREP CLASS.
4. Word / Phrase:VINDICATED
Meaning: JUSTIFIED
Context: IT WAS ALSO USED IN SAT PREP CLASS.
5. Word / Phrase: LAVISH
Meaning: EXTRAVAGANT
Context: IT WAS USED TO TALK ABOUT THIS MAN USING A LOT OF MONEY ABOUT THIS COMPANY.
Friday, March 28, 2008
Thursday, March 27, 2008
MArch 27
I didn't go to internship to day. Ms. Aarti said not to go. She needs to talk to our mentor first. Arma and Umer didn't want to go back to the same internship. they quit so we were talkingabout who's going and who's leaving. I went to the library with Diana ad Cassie. They didn't want to buy me food and i'm hungry. I NEED F00D.
Wednesday, March 26, 2008
DECISION
I think I'm going to stop going to College Now. I have so many things to do. I pratically don't have any time for myself anymore. After College now, we have classes. After classes we have internship. Teenage years is not for working till we are tired. When i come back home, i fall asleep and i don't even eat. I have to wake up early the next morning so that i can't get to school early the next morning. And then i have to eat. Sometimes i don't eat at all. Everyone is saying that i'm losing weight...I don't want to lose weight. COME ON!!!I work too much...
I HATE TO SLEEP...zzzzzzzzzzz
I HATE TO SLEEP...zzzzzzzzzzz
Tuesday, March 25, 2008
Tuesday, 25 2008
I didn't go to internship today. Nikita told us not to come, Syira, Diana, Arma, and I. She said we had to work in school. So we brought some work to so here. WE had to find names of organizations in America such as High schools, colleges, Newspapers and other ways of sending information to the oublic. We had to come up with as many and then later call them or send them emails. That's what we did. LOL
I'm really tired right now. My head hurts a lot.
I'm really tired right now. My head hurts a lot.
Monday, March 24, 2008
Monday, 24 of March
TODAY WAS A BAD DAY!!!!
Everything was going good until the dance mentor started to be rude. Syira was asking me a question when someone called. When I picked up the phone, i answered Syira and then i talked to the person on the phone. When i finished, Prachi (the dance mentor) got angry and started telling us in a disrespectful way that we are taking advantage of how they are treating us. WE are not even doing anything bad and she's blaming all of us for taking advantage of how she treats us. She even said that we cannot talk to each other. We all have to be quiet the whole time????? The whole 4 hours, she was lecturing Arma about why she didn't come to intership on Thursday. She wants us to do more hours. Even if we do all our hours and we overpass them, she still wants us to come and do more hours. She's starting to be really bossy. I always ask myself what they would do if we were not here. They would be helplesss. She so BOSSY.I'm starting to hate her (in a good way).
Syira and I worked a lot today and she embarrassed us all. I don't like being embarrassed. It makes me blush In a good way. I'm tired now. We worked so much and we pratically did the same thing over and over again. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOo
Everything was going good until the dance mentor started to be rude. Syira was asking me a question when someone called. When I picked up the phone, i answered Syira and then i talked to the person on the phone. When i finished, Prachi (the dance mentor) got angry and started telling us in a disrespectful way that we are taking advantage of how they are treating us. WE are not even doing anything bad and she's blaming all of us for taking advantage of how she treats us. She even said that we cannot talk to each other. We all have to be quiet the whole time????? The whole 4 hours, she was lecturing Arma about why she didn't come to intership on Thursday. She wants us to do more hours. Even if we do all our hours and we overpass them, she still wants us to come and do more hours. She's starting to be really bossy. I always ask myself what they would do if we were not here. They would be helplesss. She so BOSSY.I'm starting to hate her (in a good way).
Syira and I worked a lot today and she embarrassed us all. I don't like being embarrassed. It makes me blush In a good way. I'm tired now. We worked so much and we pratically did the same thing over and over again. OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOo
Thursday, March 20, 2008
free day
Thursday the 20th of 2008
I didn't go to intership today because i did more than 12 hours. My mentor told me not to come to day so i didn't go. SO i used my time to finish anything i need for the blog. I'm done. it's lucnh time and i got to go EAT.
I didn't go to intership today because i did more than 12 hours. My mentor told me not to come to day so i didn't go. SO i used my time to finish anything i need for the blog. I'm done. it's lucnh time and i got to go EAT.
Wednesday
UMMMMMMMMMMM......I arrived at 1:30 today at internship because my office manager called me to go pick up stuff from the book launch(yesterday). I walked so much looking for the place. I found it and then we had to take a taxi. The taxi took like forever to get there but I kind of liked it because i didn't want to work. I had a headache (I don't know why!) I guess that's what happened when you're always on the screen of the computer.
When I got back to work, immediately, i started working. Nikita already had a bunch of stuff ready for me and Syira to do.
She always says, "Ok, let me tell you what to do,," and then she will keep talking until we start working....My head keeps hurting. Now I always have to wear my glasses when I'm on the computer because my father said so....I'm so mad.
BTW: I ATE MORE ORANGE!!!! I'M IN GOOD HEALTH.
When I got back to work, immediately, i started working. Nikita already had a bunch of stuff ready for me and Syira to do.
She always says, "Ok, let me tell you what to do,," and then she will keep talking until we start working....My head keeps hurting. Now I always have to wear my glasses when I'm on the computer because my father said so....I'm so mad.
BTW: I ATE MORE ORANGE!!!! I'M IN GOOD HEALTH.
Wednesday, March 19, 2008
Book LAunch
Tuesday, 18 2008
TOday, we had a book lunch. A book lunch is like a little party, only it's not wild with loud music(No music at all). It was really nice but there was not enough food to eat. We had to sneak some food to eat. It started at 6:30 and ended at 8:30. The author of the book "THE PAKISTANI BRIDE" came. She was talking about how she wrote the book when and where. She wrote the book on her honeymoon and it was the first book that she ever wrote. Later, she was reading to us with her emotions and feelings and that made the book even more interesting. Reporters came and interviewd her and...
...........I EVEN TALKED TO HER!! CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?? SHE'S FAMOUS!!!
IT'S NOT EVERYDAY YOU MEET A FAMOUS PERSON!!!
THAT'S HER!==^
She's acting..
Something really funny happened when we were going to the book launch. Syira and I were trying to take a cab. We had a bunch of stuff in our hands. We were going to the place to set up everything. When we were looking for a taxi (we didn't know how to do that)we saw a woman near the road waving her hands in the air. She too had many stuff to hold. We guessed she was looking for a taxi too. We were standing there watching what would happen. So finally, a taxi pulled over for her. I ran after the taxi to see if i can get in first. The woman was running too. I got there first and was asking the driver something. The woman came and started yelling. She said, "He pulled over for me. Back off." I acted like i didn't hear and she said it again. Then i said, "Oh Ok. You should have said so." Then when the taxi left, Syira and I were laughing so loud. We started crying (I think that was Syira, not me).
HERE ARE MORE PICS!!!
SHE'S SIGNING THE BOARD THAT SYIRA AND I HAD TO CARRY ALL THE WAY THERE.==^
SHE'S SIGNING A BOOK FOR SOMEONE.==^
SHOWING OFF HER BOOK AND STANDING NEXT TO THE BOARD.==^
MY BOSS AND THE AUTHOR. (THEY'RE FRIENDS!)
ME AND SYIRA ALL THE WAY IN THE BACK LOOKING IN THE BOOK!!
ME AND SYIRA AT THE SIDE..YOU CAN'T SEE US THAT WELL BUT WE'RE THERE. I PROMISE!!
TOday, we had a book lunch. A book lunch is like a little party, only it's not wild with loud music(No music at all). It was really nice but there was not enough food to eat. We had to sneak some food to eat. It started at 6:30 and ended at 8:30. The author of the book "THE PAKISTANI BRIDE" came. She was talking about how she wrote the book when and where. She wrote the book on her honeymoon and it was the first book that she ever wrote. Later, she was reading to us with her emotions and feelings and that made the book even more interesting. Reporters came and interviewd her and...
...........I EVEN TALKED TO HER!! CAN YOU BELIEVE IT?? SHE'S FAMOUS!!!
IT'S NOT EVERYDAY YOU MEET A FAMOUS PERSON!!!
THAT'S HER!==^
She's acting..Something really funny happened when we were going to the book launch. Syira and I were trying to take a cab. We had a bunch of stuff in our hands. We were going to the place to set up everything. When we were looking for a taxi (we didn't know how to do that)we saw a woman near the road waving her hands in the air. She too had many stuff to hold. We guessed she was looking for a taxi too. We were standing there watching what would happen. So finally, a taxi pulled over for her. I ran after the taxi to see if i can get in first. The woman was running too. I got there first and was asking the driver something. The woman came and started yelling. She said, "He pulled over for me. Back off." I acted like i didn't hear and she said it again. Then i said, "Oh Ok. You should have said so." Then when the taxi left, Syira and I were laughing so loud. We started crying (I think that was Syira, not me).
HERE ARE MORE PICS!!!
SHE'S SIGNING THE BOARD THAT SYIRA AND I HAD TO CARRY ALL THE WAY THERE.==^
SHE'S SIGNING A BOOK FOR SOMEONE.==^
SHOWING OFF HER BOOK AND STANDING NEXT TO THE BOARD.==^
MY BOSS AND THE AUTHOR. (THEY'RE FRIENDS!)
ME AND SYIRA ALL THE WAY IN THE BACK LOOKING IN THE BOOK!!
ME AND SYIRA AT THE SIDE..YOU CAN'T SEE US THAT WELL BUT WE'RE THERE. I PROMISE!!
Tuesday, March 18, 2008
Monday, 17the 2008 "My whole life is in my bag"
On mOnday the 17th 2008, I went to Intership wishing to have fun and do something that would help me in the future. I was in a happy mood also. I don't even know why. Anyway, as soon as we came in through the door, noticed that the atmosphere was different than it normally is. I saw Aroon (BOSS) sitting with the phone in her hands.
MY BO$$==^
So she started to tell us what happened. SHe said that she was taking stuff out of her car when a bunch of latino guys came up to her and asked her if she needed help. She told them "no" and when she got back to her car, the passenger door was opened. her handbag was missing. She had everything in there. She had her diary, cell phone with all the numbers of the contacts she needs to have, her money and credit card, her license and everything she needs to survive (Except for food and clothes, of course). Luckily, she did not have her laptop, so that was cool. She contacted the police and they helped but in vain. It made no difference. She kept saying over and over again, "My whole life is in my bag, my whole life is in my diary." Her accent was really funny too...I hope she doesn't read this!!!!That was the only thing that happened today. I worked so much. I was typing some stuff that was lost by accident...
NO MOREEEEE
MY BO$$==^So she started to tell us what happened. SHe said that she was taking stuff out of her car when a bunch of latino guys came up to her and asked her if she needed help. She told them "no" and when she got back to her car, the passenger door was opened. her handbag was missing. She had everything in there. She had her diary, cell phone with all the numbers of the contacts she needs to have, her money and credit card, her license and everything she needs to survive (Except for food and clothes, of course). Luckily, she did not have her laptop, so that was cool. She contacted the police and they helped but in vain. It made no difference. She kept saying over and over again, "My whole life is in my bag, my whole life is in my diary." Her accent was really funny too...I hope she doesn't read this!!!!That was the only thing that happened today. I worked so much. I was typing some stuff that was lost by accident...
NO MOREEEEE
Monday, March 17, 2008
WEEKLY VOCABULARY
1. Word / Phrase: PR BINDER
Meaning: Press binder= Any information we find in the newspapers about our organization, we put them in a binder
Context: Syira and I made a PR binder from events we found from the internet.
2. Word / Phrase: Exhibition
Meaning: a presentation of art, gallery
Context: We had an exhibition where many artists came and talked about their work. Guests also came and visualized the arts.
3. Word / Phrase:Pseudo
Meaning: Sham, tricking someone....
Context: Mr. Andrew told me and i still don't understand what it means and why he told me.
4. Word / Phrase:Book launch
Meaning:an event where you Launch a book
Context: Bapsi is the author of the book The pakistani bride. She came to the book launch and she explain to us when she wrote it, why and als o she read some of the contents to us.
5. Word / Phrase:Check for yourself
Meaning:Go look it up yourself
Context:Whenever i ask Nikita a question, she would tell me to go look it up myself on the company's website
Meaning: Press binder= Any information we find in the newspapers about our organization, we put them in a binder
Context: Syira and I made a PR binder from events we found from the internet.
2. Word / Phrase: Exhibition
Meaning: a presentation of art, gallery
Context: We had an exhibition where many artists came and talked about their work. Guests also came and visualized the arts.
3. Word / Phrase:Pseudo
Meaning: Sham, tricking someone....
Context: Mr. Andrew told me and i still don't understand what it means and why he told me.
4. Word / Phrase:Book launch
Meaning:an event where you Launch a book
Context: Bapsi is the author of the book The pakistani bride. She came to the book launch and she explain to us when she wrote it, why and als o she read some of the contents to us.
5. Word / Phrase:Check for yourself
Meaning:Go look it up yourself
Context:Whenever i ask Nikita a question, she would tell me to go look it up myself on the company's website
YAY ME!!!
I've finally finished my book. I finished it on Sunday night at 12 o'clock sharp. I was crying the whole time. It took me a year to finish it and now It is done. I am so happy. This is the first time I've actually started the book and finished it. When I read through it, I kept saying to myself, "It has been a success. It has been a success indeed." (L)
Saturday, March 15, 2008
NEW PALTZ
"TUESDAY'S TRIP"
THE FOOD IS AWESOME. THEY'RE LUCKY TO HAVE A BUFFET AND THEY CAN COME WHENEVER.
THAT'S ALL I REMEMBER!!!! (I remember more but i have to go now.)
The trip on Tuesday was very good. It was a long drive though. The room we were in first was so big. I couldn't believe it was a classroom. It was unbelievable. The tour was also good. I'm surprised they have a building for almost each major.
The buildings are awesome. The place looks beautiful. What i really liked were the dorm rooms. You can pick where you live depending on how much you're willing to pay. You can rent items such as , fish bowl, lamp, drawers...and put them in you're room. If you're not in, whoever is looking for you can leave a message on your door. How sweet is that?! Living in a dorm is like living by yourself without parents.
On each floo, there's a gym, a kitchen, laundromat, lab and a recreation place. That's just like living in a small mansion. It would be really nice to live there!!!
They have a tennis court, basketball, softball fiel, baseball fiel, track and the practice field. They even have a pond. If it gets frozen, you can ice skate on it. Woo Hoo!
THEY CALL THEMSELVES, "THE HOTTEST SMALL STATE SCHOOL IN AMERICA". Their school is hot but I would say it's small. It is large and it will probably take forever to have a good tour of the whole place.
THE FOOD IS AWESOME. THEY'RE LUCKY TO HAVE A BUFFET AND THEY CAN COME WHENEVER.
THAT'S ALL I REMEMBER!!!! (I remember more but i have to go now.)
Friday, March 14, 2008
LAst Thursday, my internship had a party for artists. It was like a gallery or exhibition where many arts are put up and people come and visualize them. The artists were also there to talk about their works. Macksut and Umer were helping put the place in place and Syira, Sunny and I helped with the food and the security. We made sure everyone was happy and had a good time.
It was a cool place to go. I saw many pieces of arts and they were so beautiful. I'm surprised someone could do that. I was full of awe. Anyway, after that, Sunny and I went downstairs to do security. We had the walkie-talkie thingie and if we needed something, we tell Macksut (who was upstairs with a walkie thingie) and he brings it to us or he replaces us. The job was really hard because of the people coming in and out of the place. Some of them were really rude. For example, we asked them for their name, email and they kept saying, "We are already on the mailing list. SO we are not going to do that." Other people said that, "We don't want you guys playing with our mails," or "What do you need the email for...?" I was pissed off and I went to talk to the woman that was helping us with the food. She told me to calm down. Then she gave me some food to eat and then I served instead of doing the security. LAter i went back down because i felt pity for Sunny doing all the work himself. (LOL)
Oh Yeah!!! I was mad because some people weren't doing their job. When Sunny and I were doing the security, we didn't take everyone's name and addresses down. The head executive came down and told us that there were too many people upstairs than on the paper. So I went up and counted the people and put them on the paper. Everything was good until 7:30 PM. Diana, Syira, Arma and I were going home. The boys were staying till 8:30 PM. Sunny went upstairs and Umer replaced him. But when I was waiting for the girls to come down, I saw that Umer wasn't doing his job. He was talking on the phone and letting other people go upstairs. I told him quietly that what he was supposed to do was write the guests' names and mails down. He told me that he knew how to do the job. And i told him that if he knew, why was he letting people pass? So he told me to stop yelling at him. I don't know if he was angry at something that was been said on the phone but i didn't like the way he was talking. He even said that he would slap the S*** out of me. And I told him to do but that time, the girls were ready and were pushing me out the door. I don't know but Umer and I are always fighting and we don't work good together. He doesn't seem to do much work but goof around. That was my main problem on Thursday. Other than that, everything went fine.
When we were going home, we got a little bit lost and our metro cards couldn't work because we had too many rides. THAT'S ALL I CAN REMEMBER. IT WAS A FUN DAY THOUGH!!!
Thursday, March 13, 2008
Monday, March 10, 2008
SECOND WEEK ASSIGNMENT 2
What did you do during your second week?
My second week...
I did more office works. This time it was fun office work. I made a mailing list and a "PR"binder. If i see something in the newspaper about my organization, I would put it in the binder. I also add addresses to the mailing list. At the end of the week, I have to send the mailing list to my mentor and to the head executive of the organization. The best thing I've done is going out to deliver items to other organizations. I went with Sunny and on the way there we got lost (Which was kind of fun) but we found our way back in Manhattan.
How was it different than the first week?
There's not much of a difference form the first week. There was more work this week than the other. And I started to feel more responsible than before. Same work and more work...
I did more office works. This time it was fun office work. I made a mailing list and a "PR"binder. If i see something in the newspaper about my organization, I would put it in the binder. I also add addresses to the mailing list. At the end of the week, I have to send the mailing list to my mentor and to the head executive of the organization. The best thing I've done is going out to deliver items to other organizations. I went with Sunny and on the way there we got lost (Which was kind of fun) but we found our way back in Manhattan.
How was it different than the first week?
There's not much of a difference form the first week. There was more work this week than the other. And I started to feel more responsible than before. Same work and more work...
What is something that you really like about the internship?
I like the fact that we can talk with the staff. They are really cool and they are fun to talk to. In the beginning i had a different point of view of them but now it's okay. They're alright.
What is something you dislike about the internship?
One thing that's really challenging for me is that they give us many different works to do at the same time. By the time I'm half way done with the first task, there are thousands of them ready for me to do (HYPERBOLE). I can't take my time and do a good job. It is snap snap chap chap...
Who else's blog have your read and commented on?
SO far, i have not commented on anyone's blog but I will do it to some of them...SORRY MR. ANDREW!!!!
I like the fact that we can talk with the staff. They are really cool and they are fun to talk to. In the beginning i had a different point of view of them but now it's okay. They're alright.
What is something you dislike about the internship?
One thing that's really challenging for me is that they give us many different works to do at the same time. By the time I'm half way done with the first task, there are thousands of them ready for me to do (HYPERBOLE). I can't take my time and do a good job. It is snap snap chap chap...
Who else's blog have your read and commented on?
SO far, i have not commented on anyone's blog but I will do it to some of them...SORRY MR. ANDREW!!!!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)






